This fat lady is singing

You know it’s time to lose weight when your daughter begins to make remarks.  She sounds so innocent, but those little innocent words are like daggers into your fat soul.  Need an example?

We went to Wendy’s the other night because I was dog tired and had no energy to cook a meal.  I know, shame shame.  So we went to Wendy’s and as we were sitting there with our dessert, Frosties, of course, Addie begins her I’m-really-tired whining.  “Can I come and sit in your lap, Mama? whine whine”  I answered very sweetly, “I’d love to have you sit in my lap, Addie, but there’s no room.”  Emma, ever the Type-A helpful one, pipes up, “Yeah, there’s no room because Mommy’s got too much fat on her belly and there’s not room for you and her fat belly.” 

Now, I know my daughter wasn’t trying to hurt my feelings or being malicious.  But I wanted to cry right into my Frosty. 

Why is losing weight so hard?  I suppose dieting isn’t really fun.  You’ve got to eat consciously, eat healthy, it costs more to eat healthy so you spend more at the grocery store, you’ve got to watch for “hidden” bad things, like if your fish was cooked in butter and so on.  Then you’ve got exercise.  I’m sure there are some freakazoids out there who get a high from using the spinning thingy at the gym, or do that Carrie Fisher thing in When Harry Met Sally and get an endorphin rush from walking.  I’m not one of those people.  I tried doing pilates the other night, and I was doing that one thing where you lay on your belly and then lift your head and arms and legs (which, by the way, babies do all the time, have you noticed?  Which I think of when I’m doing that pose and then I start to laugh thinking what I must look like and have to take a break because I’m laughing so hard I’m out of breath).  All I could think was this hurts, let’s stop.  So I did.  Stop, I mean. 

There’s gobs of pills out there, all boasting of being #1 in weight loss.  I once read a blog about Alli, and oh.my.stars. I must have lost at least five pounds just by laughing.  You can read about that here

I can remember once in college, I went through a tiny phase where I took Dexatrim.  I just wanted to see if it worked, and by golly, I lost a few pounds.  But I didn’t go shouting through my dorm that I was using a pill to put off the pounds (haha, alliteration) because, you know, that just wouldn’t sound as cool.  So I had them stashed in my bathroom.  We had dorm room checks once a week to make sure there wasn’t grime and slime dripping from every surface of the room or something and my RA and her assistant meandered through my room, checking the toilet, the trash, dust or whatever.  Then they came up to me and said, ever so sweetly, “Kearsie, we’ve noticed you’ve lost some weight and we’re SO PROUD that you’ve done it without the help of a PILL!”.  And they patted me on the shoulder and walked away.  I think I just sort of smiled, in a I’m-smiling-but-on-the-inside-I’m-grimacing sort of way.  That was the end of the Dexatrim for me.  I never knew if they were just being mean or if they were really being serious.  It was tormenting.

It’s kind of tough being Eskimo, because our bodies are actually made to collect fact.  So if there’s a greasy cheeseburger sitting there, my mouth is watering and all of my collecting genes are shouting “YES!  MUST STORE UP FOR THE WINTER!”  No matter that the average temperature of my own personal world hovers somewhere around boiling point.  No matter that I’ve spent the last 18 years of my life in the South, where you walk out the door shvetzing through your blouse.  Hard to believe that just 100 years ago women ran around in hoop skirts and long sleeves and stockings.  Yuck.

Perhaps if we all band together, albeit through this vast web of nets, we can all get fit together.  Perhaps swap healthy recipes and tips on working out so it doesn’t seem like so much work.  Whaddya’ll think?

10 responses to this post.

  1. Hey! Again, I’m on this journey too! 🙂 My Mom is graciously paying for WW for me – which I think is a winner. It is the threat of a weigh in, and doing things right: eating healthier, not eating out all the time, limit sweets, drink water, exercise, veggies, and lean protein. There is no secret. But for me, I get down to my goal weight, stay there about 2 monhts, then realize my life isn’t going to be magical just because i’m thin, so I start eating poorly again and stop working out. I’ve lost about 20 and got another 35 or 40 to go. Who knows? 4th time of losing 60 lbs a charm?

    Reply

  2. Posted by soundsliketomatoes on August 1, 2008 at 7:22 pm

    Oh no! You mean my life won’t be magical if I’m thin? Darn! There goes that dream!

    Reply

  3. Posted by Jennifer on August 2, 2008 at 3:33 pm

    I’m with Kim….I love Weight Watchers. But I also lose the weight I want to lose and then gain it back. It sucks! But….it is possible. I’ve currently got some friends that have lost weight, kept it off, and are still losing. Super stoked for them but secretly a little jealous. ha! Us girls….we are just cursed to be unhappy with our bodies I think. And men…who don’t typically care a tremendous amount about the way they look (they do…but not to the same extent as women)…..they lose weight after one bicep curl! Buzzards! We want to be thin, look pretty, and be healthy and we get stuck with periods and crap like that! ha! So once a month we have to gain weight, feel ugly and eat unhealthily because our bodies crave everything unhealthy in sight. And we wonder why we can’t lose weight! I’m not bitter…not bitter at all. 🙂

    Reply

  4. Posted by candy0108 on August 2, 2008 at 4:06 pm

    I have to say there is no easy way but it does get easier I have lost 25 lbs since March and it is mind blowing to me and I need 20 more and I am kinda at a road block.. (I will blog about it soon I have been thinking on it) but what did it for me is that I just got totally frustrated and totally in the zone you are right It takes alot of mind power and truely it was all I could think about because we are so conditioned to the way we eat that it is just subcontious.. but now after months of think this way it is better and getting easier and my metabolism has changed and I can now get away with an ice cream here and there I even had Pizza the other night without gaining.. I am here I support you and wish we could do this together.. I will share some of my secrets with you later if your interested.

    Reply

  5. Posted by Misty on August 3, 2008 at 4:31 am

    My sister -in-law cut out sugar and has lost like 15 lbs! I think I found those 15 pounds for her! They have adhered themselves to my stomach thighs and rear! I, too, was and probaly still will blog about this weight subject. So I won’t get too exhaustive here but my frustration is that my body is different post 3rd child and seems to not like it very much when I go walking either. We were walking down town and I swear I thought my hips were going to go out! I miss walking around the lake and campus with the girls in college, getting all sweaty cause of the 100% humidty! I think about that now and my hands start to swell!

    Reply

  6. Go to Wal*Mart or any book store and get the book called “Eat This Not That!” It tells you which foods are better than others. If you go to Wendy’s, get the Ultimate Chicken Grill Sandwich, a side salad with Reduced Fat Creamy Ranch & a Medium Iced Tea instead of the Roasted Turkey & Swiss Frescata, medium fries & a medium coke. 540 cals vs 1100 cals, 22 g fat vs 40 g fat, 4.5 g saturated fat vs
    9 g saturated fat & 1780 mg sodium vs 1950 mg sodium. Check it out.

    Reply

  7. Posted by Aunt Melissa on August 4, 2008 at 7:07 pm

    Gee, to think, we made these sweet angels to say these wonderful things. Yep, out of the mouths of babes…. Pure honesty.

    If only there was a “magic bullet” to keep the weight at bay and us healthy. I was out running with my running partner last week and said to her, “imagine never having to worry about your weight – that is my husband.” Never for a day in his life has he had to worry about his weight. She responded, “I can’t imagine.” And, neither can I and I live with this man. If weight loss was so easy, we’d all be skinny Minnie…. I run, eat right, etc. and I’m not there either. I still run to lose weight. I’m still running to lose weight too. I ran today. I thought about it today. I’ll be thinking of it tomorrow too.

    You write beautifully and I love to read and laugh at your blog. Keep your chin up babydoll. You’re beautiful.

    Reply

  8. You know, I hate to be contrary, but I think the Carrie Fisher scene you’re thinking about was in”Drop Dead Fred” not “When Harry Met Sally”. I mean, it could be in “When Harry Met Sally” too, but as I haven’t seen it I can’t be sure. However, it would be weird since it is in “Drop Dead Fred”. I know it’s not from “Star Wars”. I can say that with absolute certainty.

    Maybe I do like being contrary.

    ; )

    PS: I’m just glad that Aunt Melissa didn’t say “keep your chins up”, that would have been insensitive. Hopefully no one else will either. Well, except me.

    Contrary and insensitive, that’s me.

    Reply

  9. Posted by soundsliketomatoes on August 6, 2008 at 3:37 pm

    Hahahaha, chins, now that right there is funny.

    Reply

  10. Posted by Mom on August 6, 2008 at 11:58 pm

    I so can relate to this! Weight is a sensitive issue. When I flew to Anchorage last fall I told the lady at the ticket counter I had winter gear in my suitcase, so it was fuller than it normally would be. Did she smile in understanding? Wink behind her hand & say she, too was packing it on? NO. She put this awful bright orange sticker on my suitcase telling the WHOLE WORLD I was fat. (okay, the sticker said “overweight” in bold print, like everybody couldn’t see for themselves that I needed to shed some weight!) I was so mortified! When I few home, they plastered another sticker right beside the first one. So now I have two bold reminders I weigh too much. Maybe I’ll go out & work on developing another chin, so I’ll have one to go with each sticker.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

