Country music makes me philosophical

My boss is out of town this week which means that I get to read blogs all day I get to catch up on all my work. Before I get crackin, I thought I’d tell you about my weekend, which was oh, so action packed.  I meant to get a lot of cleaning and chores done this past weekend, but instead I laid in bed all day Saturday reading my Sophie Kinsella collection.  I had woken up feeling like something a goat had chewed over, so that’s all I had the energy for.  As a result my house looks like it threw up on itself.  I did get up around 5:00 and drag myself off to the shower.  Lance’s dad had called us and told us that he had gotten us some tickets to something he called a “surprise”.  We were a little nervous, because my father in law’s idea of entertainment is sitting on the sofa watching hours of RFD-TV and making us comment on the tractors, horses and cattle that are featured.  Even scarier was when we dropped the girls off and he offhandedly commented “just keep an open mind”.  Visions of rodeos and sawdust filled my city mind.

We drove to a small town nearby and parked next to a red caboose.  We passed over the tickets and walked into a room smelling of cedar.  There was a tiny stage with three stools and microphones and about two dozen people, already seated with their cans of soda and bottles of water.  We were ushered over to a bar where heavy hors d’oeuvres were being served.  I hadn’t eaten anything beyond toast all day so my grumbling stomache was hankering for some sustinance.  After a couple of self-conscious minutes of filling our plates we found a seat and waited for the show to begin.

Three young people came to the stage (listen to me, young people, I sound like I’m seventy “look at those young people, you know, young people in my day were so different…”) and strapped on their accoustic guitars and began to take turns playing songs they had written.

It was actually very cool.  They were country music singer/songwriters and I wouldn’t label us as country music fans, but is was awesome to watch them play their songs in an unplugged forum.  (By the way, why do they call it unplugged, because technically, they are plugged into amplifiers.  Just curious)  The three artists were Shelly Colvin, Jeremy Spillman and Lisa McCallum

Shelly Colvin struck me as a bohemian Sheryl Crow and wore her hair really long and everytime she bent over her guitar I was wondering what she would do if her hair ever got tangled in the guitar strings.  Only truly cool people can wear earrings that dangle to their shoulders and those really large rings that cover most of your finger.  And she was so slender and petite that I kind of hated her a little.  Ok, not really.  She was incredibly talented, singing her songs that she labeled as “dark” and just sort of taking you along on her journeys. 

Jeremy Spillman, a songwriter by trade, has had several of his songs picked up by artists such as Josh Turner, Trisha Yearwood, Trace Adkins and Lee Ann Womack.  He had such diversity to his songs, that’s what I mostly noticed.  Very good.

Lisa McCallum hails from Canada, so occassionally we would hear a Canadian pronunciation “this song is aboat my last relationship”.  She had an amazing voice and can wail.  Well, she didn’t really wail, she sang, you know what I mean. 

I think when you hear music on the radio, it’s one thing.  But when you sit in a small room and watch the artist singing their very own words, it’s a totally different thing.  You can’t be helped but be swept away.  Watching them, hearing their work, I got to thinking about some very philosophical things…

Don’t we all have a work of art that we add to every day?  For some it’s our jobs, for some it’s our kids, for some it’s more public, like writing and singing or acting.  We are, everyday, the starring role in our play.  Our audience is varied, but watching us nonetheless.  My kids are mostly my audience and sometimes I sing sweet melodies and lullabies.  Sometimes they hear me shriek, like when Addie thought it would be really interesting to grind hot pink silly putty into our white carpet.  We all are being watched, we’re all performing.  It makes you really begin to understand that quote “All the world’s a stage, and all the men and women merely players…”

I also admired these three artists, for being brave enough to share their words and experiences for public eyes and ears.  That takes guts.  I got to wondering what they must have been thinking, sitting on that barstool, strumming their guitar, looking out into a tiny crowd of less than two dozen.  No way to tell if we were enjoying their art or secretly hating it.  Perhaps the few that bobbed their heads to their tunes was enough of an encouragement to keep going.  Isn’t it in all of us the need for validation? 

Which brings me to my next thought.  Blogging is a form of art.  It’s expression and experiences written out much the same way that words are put to tune, all for the enjoyment of others.  It takes some fearlessness and bravery on behalf of the writer.  When I began this little experiment, it was to see just how far I could take it.  I have been blogging now for two months, having no idea what to expect from this. As far as personal successes go, as of today I have had over 2,200 views and now perfect strangers are reading my silly words.  That’s a success, to a degree.  I’ve not yet received a comment that had me under my desk in the fetal position, that’s a success. 

I think when it comes to validation, we all need it and yet don’t want to appear that we need it.  We want to hear something along the lines of “good job!  keep up the good work!” but we don’t want people to think we are weak and needy.  Something I read once on another blog was the suggestion to always comment on the blogs you enjoy, because no one likes a “lurker”, someone who reads but doesn’t give any indication if they enjoyed it, hated it, thought it amazing or drivel.  Personally speaking, I want to make you, the reader, emote, to opine, to feel something.  Whether it’s something like “this chic is fantastic!  I love her and wish we could be best friends!” or something along those lines. 

So the moral of the story is, if you enjoy a blog, write a quick comment and say so.  If you enjoy a sermon, tell the preacher you enjoyed it and why.  If you sit in a dark room, listening to songwriters singing their songs, don’t be afraid to tell them that you’re not a country music fan but liked it anyway they’ve got a new fan.  Small words like that go a long way, believe me.

Editor’s note:  it took me exactly two days and seventeen hours to realize that I had misspelled the word “country”.  Yes, I am super classy.

15 responses to this post.

  1. What would put this blog over the top is a few more guest posts by Addie, telling the world how much she digs her Uncle Danny.
    Because, deep, deep, oh so deep down in her heart, she really does.

    Reply

  2. But really girl, you so funny.

    Reply

  3. Posted by Kamryn on July 14, 2008 at 6:32 pm

    If paintbrushes are keyboards, you’re a Picasso, my dear.

    Reply

  4. Posted by soundsliketomatoes on July 14, 2008 at 6:37 pm

    I’m sure that deep, deep down Addie really does love you, Danny, underneath all the “I’m scared to death of Uncle Danny” and “he is so mean to me”. It’s there somewhere.
    And Kam, you’re awesome. I love you!

    Reply

  5. Posted by soundsliketomatoes on July 14, 2008 at 6:58 pm

    P.S. Danny, you know you’re jealous that you and Merriem didn’t get tickets to the Red Caboose. Admit it.

    Reply

  6. I was just thinking, “I wonder what my father-in-law will give ME when we visit in August?”
    Ten to one I’ll be worming cows or de-hooving horses or whatever else it is this city boy has tried to avoid on the farm.

    Reply

  7. Posted by fivemoreminutesplease on July 14, 2008 at 7:07 pm

    I, for one…aparently more than one, love your blogs…and please don’t ever stop because your fans would miss you!! 🙂

    Reply

  8. ah… validation… Yeah, we all write our little blogs and think out loud to ourselves.. I am just venting, I dont care what anyone thinks. (Okay, I do anyway) but deep down, it kinda sucks when I write something really important to me, and no one reads it or responds to it. hehe… maybe I dont write as well as I think I do… 😉 But continue to blog, I will… even if it IS just to vent! hehe

    btw… I used to go to a thing called a Poetry Slam once a week when I lived in San Antonio. College kids mostly would get up and spill their guts about love, hate, politics, exams.. you name it. And it ROCKED!!! Something so pure about an artist getting real about what they feel or believe in. If only we could all be that way! 😉

    Reply

  9. Posted by soundsliketomatoes on July 14, 2008 at 7:53 pm

    I’d love to say I’m one of those folks that don’t care, but alas, I care very much. And I’m so glad I’ve got friends who are braving the cyber elements, too, it’s sort of like we’re all in it together. Yay us!

    Reply

  10. Posted by Jen Pickel on July 15, 2008 at 12:41 pm

    This chic is fantastic! I love her and wish we could be best friends! ha! Seriously….I LOVE reading your blogs. I’m jealous that I cannot be so transparent and deeply philosophical before the world. You rock Kearsie Murphy!

    Reply

  11. Posted by soundsliketomatoes on July 15, 2008 at 1:06 pm

    You, too, can be like me, but only if you’re willing to put your foot in your mouth at least twice a day! Oh, and have horrible hair.

    Reply

  12. Posted by Jen on July 15, 2008 at 5:12 pm

    So…which Sophie Kinsella book are you ready?

    Reply

  13. Posted by soundsliketomatoes on July 15, 2008 at 5:37 pm

    Well, I only officially own Confessions of a Shopaholic, Shopoholic Ties the Knot, Shopoholic and Baby and The Undomestic Goddess. I kind of have gaps in there. I’m hoping soon to purchase Shopaholic in Manhatten, Shopaholic and Sister and Can You Keep a Secret. But have you seen that Sophie Kinsella has a new book called Remember Me? I’ll have to wait a few years before the price dips below $10 and then it’s MINE. BTW, did you know that Sophie Kinsella is actually Madeleine Wickham? Sophie Kinsella is just her pen name.

    Reply

  14. Posted by missleslieanne on August 22, 2008 at 4:29 am

    Live music should make you philosophical. Good country music has always affected me that way. It should touch your heart and soul and put you in touch with what is really important to you.

    Blogging has been a way for me to stay in touch both with myself and with other people – just like being onstage. It’s a great thing.

    Keep it up.

    Reply

  15. Posted by Carrie Mace on June 7, 2009 at 3:58 am

    thank you for the insight, I am one of those lurking readers, never leaving comments (well, I have for you…). I don’t usually comment because I’m not funny or witty or what I say might sound dorky, but hey, I am dorky, so there you go.
    how awesome that you got to see those performers! I love country music 🙂
    and hey, I love rfd-tv, but they took it off my cable here….bummer

    Reply

Leave a Reply

