Mentally scarring my children early

Can you believe it’s almost time for school to start again?  I spent my lunch hour yesterday shopping for school supplies, remembering when I had my own wooden ruler with the little metal bar that sliced up my fingers and doing random things like pouring glue on my hand and letting it dry and then revelling in peeling it off.  You know, all the things kids learn to do in school.  At least I wasn’t eating the glue like some kids I know.

Anyways, so I was reading aloud the letter informing us of open house dates and times and I came to the portion of the letter stating that the kindergarteners would be having staggered enrollment.  I was saying to Lance that could prove problematic for me, if Addie wasn’t staggered in soon because of child care and all that fun stuff.  Addie peeps her head out of the kitchen where she is eating a cookie and says in a very frightened voice, “I don’t want to be stabbed!”. 

Yes, I see therapy in the future.

6 responses to this post.

  1. My daily dose of laughter!!! haha Poor kiddo!!! Were you and Lance able to keep from laughing??? I would have died!!! 😉

    Reply

  2. Posted by Mom on July 11, 2008 at 6:31 pm

    Try that again from behind a shower curtian!

    Reply

  3. Posted by soundsliketomatoes on July 11, 2008 at 7:02 pm

    Were Lance and I able to keep from laughing? Uh, that would be a no. I believe we laughed, looked at each other and Lance’s next words were “There’s your next blog.”

    Reply

  4. Posted by soundsliketomatoes on July 14, 2008 at 11:23 am

    At least you’re raising a kid who knows what she does (or doesn’t) want. 🙂

    Reply

  5. Posted by soundsliketomatoes on July 14, 2008 at 11:24 am

    Hmmm…I have to log you out…I didn’t realize you were still signed in on my computer!
    -Kam

    Reply

  6. Posted by soundsliketomatoes on July 14, 2008 at 1:11 pm

    Or you could just stay logged in as me and comment for me!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

