Having 100 Facts About Me withdrawls

Folks, I’d love to say that today, I woke up fresh, well rested and mentally revved up to take on the challenge of attacking the day with gusto.  Alas, I woke up, bleary eyed, ruing the day I decided that full time employment was the best thing for me. 

But I did find a really great meme (by the way, where on earth did they find the term “meme” to signify a list of personal thoughts?  Just curious.)  Perhaps if I do this meme it’ll kick start the creative juices and I’ll be able to write something other than “…so tired…want sleep…or copious amounts of Diet Coke…”

So here goes:

LAST MOVIE YOU SAW IN A THEATER:  We took the girls to see Disney/Pixar’s Wall-E.  It was awesome. 

WHAT BOOK ARE YOU READING:  Currently, I am reading Dave Barry’s Big Trouble .  This is Dave Barry’s first novel and it is so far, very funny.  It was also made into a movie in 2002, which I have not seen, but it looks like the cast was good.

FAVORITE BOARD GAME:  Ok, if you have read my past posts, you know that I am not a strict “favorites” girl.  I am a “which way is the wind blowing?”  So my first answer is Imaginiff.  Or the Game of Life (which I know is kind of lame, but I like it so SHUTTY), and if that’s not around then I also like Compatibility.  Or maybe Scrabble?  I JUST DON’T KNOW.  I CAN’T HANDLE THIS KIND OF PRESSURE TODAY.

FAVORITE MAGAZINE:  I am not the typical woman to pour over magazines they buy at the store or subscribe to.  The only magazine I read cover to cover is Family Fun, which was a Christmas gift from my mil and I LOVE it.  Oh, and occassionally I read People, when my boss leaves his copy around.  It’s still current events, just in a more superficial and nosey sort of way.

FAVORITE SMELLS:  Honeysuckle, cake, my husband’s face after he shaves, that cut grass smell, the first few minutes after my kids are out of the bath and they’ve actually washed and not just splashed around.

FAVORITE SOUNDS:  When my girls have a belly laugh, when I make my husband laugh, the sound of my husband’s footsteps coming up the stairs after a day of work, and all my mixed CDs.

WORST FEELING IN THE WORLD:  When Emma had surgery and they had to wheel her away without me, that was pretty bad. 

WHAT IS THE FIRST THING YOU THINK OF WHEN YOU WAKE:  Lately, I’ve been waking up at 6:10 and my alarm isn’t set until 7:00, so for 50 minutes I think “Is that the alarm going off?  No, go back to sleep”…”Is that the alarm?  NO!  Go back to sleep!”…”Is that the alarm? NOOO!!  WHY CAN’T YOU SLEEP, WHAT’S WRONG WITH YOU!!”  And then I fall asleep for precisely 3 minutes until the alarm goes off and I’m exhausted.

FAVORITE FAST FOOD PLACE:  Sigh, this whole favorites thing…I love Chick-Fil-A, but sometimes I get a hankering for Taco Bell, or maybe Subway…I don’t know, just don’t feed me Burger King.

FUTURE CHILD’S NAME:  We’re most likely done having kids, but one day if we’re blessed with the funds I’d love to adopt a Chinese baby girl and name her Evangeline and call her Evie.  Or maybe an African boy and name him Jasper, after Lance’s grandfather.

FINISH THIS STATEMENT- “IF I HAD A LOT OF MONEY I’D…”:  Gosh, just how long is this meme supposed to be?  I’d first and foremost GET OUT OF DEBT.  That’s the mission of our life right now, here in Alabama.  We are working hard to get out of debt so we can move to Colorado and plant a church.  I’d also give to missions and other church starts, because we know what it’s like to live off of donations.  And then I would SAVE, a novel concept thought up by folks with money TO save, no doubt, but still a venture worth looking into. 

DO YOU DRIVE FAST:  Not nearly as fast as I used to.  I’ve been flipped off by more folks in Anchorage, Alaska than anyone, I’m sure.

DO YOU SLEEP WITH A STUFFED ANIMAL:  I haven’t slept with a stuffed animal since I was like, five, and it was a baby doll I named Robert and a teddy bear named Cindy.  My mom sewed sequins on the ears to look like earrings.

STORMS-COOL OR SCARY:  We didn’t have storms in Alaska, I think I heard thunder one time my whole childhood.  So I think they’re stinkin cool. 

WHAT WAS YOUR FIRST CAR:  A 1984 Dodge Rampage in red with a busted headlight from when I slammed into a snow berm.  What’s a “snow berm” you ask?  It’s when the snow gets pushed onto the sides of road where it transforms into a wall of rock-hard snow that you riquochet off of like a pinball machine if you are so lucky as to hit it. 

FAVORITE DRINK:  Diet Coke, or maybe Diet Lipton Green Tea, or maybe Diet Sun Drop.

FINISH THIS STATEMENT- “IF I HAD TIME I WOULD…”:  Hmm, I would scrapbook for my kids (I think I stopped last on Easter two years ago, shame shame), I would begin sewing the baby blankets I’ve had planned for the seven (!) ladies I know who are pregnant, and I would decipher those crazy abbreviations in the knitting patterns I’m trying so desperately to use.  Oh, and exercise.

DO YOU EAT THE STEMS ON BROCCOLI:  Yes

IF YOU COULD DYE YOUR HAIR ANY OTHER COLOR, WHAT WOULD BE YOUR CHOICE:  Ok, here it comes, the source of my pride.  My hair is a kind of auburn, brunette color that I was once told by someone that looked like the color of root beer.  It is the only thing I get compliments about.  Once I was approached by a woman who wanted to know what number on the dye bottle I used, but since I don’t dye my hair I could only stare blankly smile politely at her.  A few weeks ago at church another woman approached me and said, “Please tell me that is your natural hair color!”  And when I told her it was all natural, she looked so relieved.  Although, now I wonder was it more like “Please tell me if I dye my hair auburn it won’t look like that frizzy orangy-brown!!”  Hmm.

NAME ALL THE CITIES/TOWNS YOU HAVE LIVED IN:  Oh geez, you ready?  Ok here goes.  Anchorage, AK; Los Angeles, CA; Hollywood, CA; Augora Hills, CA; Redding, CA; Malvern, AR; Brooksville, FL; Graceville, FL; Panama City Beach, FL; St. George Island, FL; Wake Forest, NC; Roxboro, NC; Cleveland, TN; and Athens, AL. 

FAVORITE SPORTS TO WATCH:  Cheerleading competitions.  Not a sport, you scoff?  You try jumping around in bloomers and not show your drawers.  You sweat a lot too, so there.

ONE NICE THING ABOUT THE PERSON WHO SENT THIS TO YOU:  Well, technically, no one sent it to me, probably because I ignore about half of what’s sent to me, especially if it ends in “If you love Jesus you will send this to 900 people, or else your teeth will fall out and you will be in a car accident by 3:30 today.”  But I did see this on Tami’s blog.  So one nice thing I could say about Tami is (there are lots of nice things to choose from), she is the kind of woman who you can look up to by being an awesome wife and mother.  Although knowing she is reading this makes me nervous, like I will bust out and type something like DOO DOO, KAKA, PEE PEE and offend her. 

WHAT’S UNDER YOUR BED:  A rusted machete, about 90 toys of the girls that no one can reach unless we move and pack up our king sized bed and probably enough orangy-brown hair to stuff a pillow. 

WOULD YOU LIKE TO BE BORN AS YOURSELF AGAIN:  Hmm, interesting question.  Can I pick someone else to be born as?  Or do I get to go through the ordering process?  I’d be me but with less boobs (sorry male readers), be at least three inches taller, have the brain capacity to communicate in Spanish beyond may I have some napkins, please?, and this may be pushing it, but that gene that causes you to STOP BREAKING OUT WITH ACNE past the age of 16.  That would be nice.

MORNING PERSON OR NIGHT OWL:  I have lived the majority of my life as a night owl, but since I got The Job, I’ve been waking up at frightfully early times and getting bleary eyed at much too early in the evenings.  Sometimes, on weekends, Lance and I force ourselves to stay up late, just to prove we can.  So there, phantom person we feel the need to prove things to!

OVER EASY OR SUNNY SIDE UP:  Neither.  I order my eggs fried over well.  Or whatever it’s called when it’s a fried egg but the yolk is hard.  Because I think that runny yolks are ew.

FAVORITE PLACE TO RELAX:  Relax?  Just what is that?  A new band on MTV?  A new restaurant featuring 50 different kinds of sushi?  Or no, I’ve got it-it’s a hair product for the curly headed masses.

FAVORITE ICE CREAM FLAVOR:  Oh geez.  I always say Butter Pecan, but rarely do I order it.  I do love Chocolate Armaretto with strawberries, but it’s never one of the featured flavors when I go to places that have it.  

(This last question is one of my own) FAVORITE COMMERCIAL:  Hands down it’s that commercial about Gas X where the guy comes in and says “Your son Rip is on line toot”.  I laugh every time.  Perhaps its the inner child laughing about passing gas.  Much like my children trying to enter the word “poop” into every variation they can think of and laughing hysterically.

9 responses to this post.

  1. I found your blog on google and read a few of your other posts. I just added you to my Google News Reader. Keep up the good work. Look forward to reading more from you in the future.

    Reply

  2. I recently came accross your blog and have been reading along. I thought I would leave my first comment. I dont know what to say except that I have enjoyed reading. Nice blog.

    Tim Ramsey

    Reply

  3. Posted by trinette on July 11, 2008 at 5:52 am

    I love wikipedia!

    Meme – http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Meme
    Coined by Richard Dawkins in 1976 in “The Selfish Gene”
    Knitting abbreviations – http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Knitting_abbreviations
    I used to totally rewrite patterns without those stupid abbr. so I could figure out what was going on. Also, then you don’t feel bad about marking up the paper because it’s not the original pattern. And if you lose it, so what?! Some of my (margin) pattern notes are really humorous now….
    Now I usually rewrite them so they are charted. That way I can actually see how it will look. OpenOffice Calc is my friend.
    Oh! and the stems are the best part of the broccoli!

    Reply

  4. Posted by Mom on July 11, 2008 at 6:30 pm

    Under Favorite Magazine, who’s “mil”?
    Hey, remember what you told me about reading some hysterical blog & wanting to post a comment but not knowing what to say? See the first 2 comments for this blog…you GO girl, you’re getting yourself out there to the world! How’s that feel, with the wind in your hair? Love you:)

    Reply

  5. Posted by soundsliketomatoes on July 11, 2008 at 6:33 pm

    Thanks Mom, “mil” stands for mother in law. It’s one of those nifty abbreviations that you stumble across in different writings. Love you, too!

    Reply

  6. The hair color thing reminds me of a Tom Waits lyric:

    And her knees up on the glove compartment
    Took out her barrettes
    and her hair spilled out like rootbeer
    And she popped her gum and arched her back

    …and you never have to apologize about boobs.

    Reply

  7. Argh! the italics traveled past the lyrics, thus making my last sentence look like it was part of the song and lessened its humorous impact.

    :pouts:

    Reply

  8. Posted by soundsliketomatoes on July 14, 2008 at 6:45 pm

    Actually that would make a fantastic song, nay? “…and you never have to apologize about boobs…unless they look like really long tubes…” Ok, I’m not a songwriter.

    Reply

  9. I wish I knew how to follow you on this or on Facebook! So interesting!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

