100 Facts About Me (#7)

61.  I would not say I am superstitious, but when I drive over a bridge, I hold my breath.

62.  I also make a wish when the clock shows the same numbers (e.g. 2:22).  My wishes are always the same:  I wish I could lose five pounds.  So far, the numbers are not magicially helping me in this mission. 

63.  I wouldn’t say I’m superstitious, but that I’m pessimistic.  For example, I was going to write “I have never had a speeding ticket.”  But my thoughts were, if I write that, I will get a speeding ticket, so better to not say it.  I think my mind is maybe broken a little.

64.  How many people still write alittle or alot instead of a little or a lot.  I am ashamed to say it took me until I was in college to realize I was writing it wrong.  Now, it is bothersome to see someone else’s mistakes.  Ignorance is indeed, bliss.

65.  I have worked for doctors, lawyers and engineers.  I am now able to read anyone’s handwriting, no questions asked.

66.  Well, ok, sometimes I have to ask. 

67.  When I was a senior in high school, I took pottery for two semesters.  I wasn’t the best in my class, but I was good at centering the clay on the wheel.  So there were a handful of people that I would center their clay for them every day. My friend Christa could make really tall vases even though she never cut her nails.  I wasn’t that great at vases, but I would say that I chose really interesting projects like once, I made a coil-pot with a lizard crawling out of it.  Another time I made a plate of spaghetti.  Pottery is what taught me that art is just appreciating people’s mistakes.

68.  If I could do anything, I would be a potter again.  It was so much fun.

69.  I take that back, I would be a fabulous drawer.  (Is that the correct way to say that?  Drawer, one who can draw)  I painted a vase of daisies once.  It was so ugly that I cut the heads off of a bunch of fake daisies and glued them on in place of the ugly painted daisies.  Perhaps beauty is in the eye of the beholder, but I thought it was really cool. Lance didn’t. 

70.  When I was in the 6th grade, I drew comic books and the main character was this Elvira looking chick.  I think I called it something like TWISTED or something equally as sinister.  I drew castles and a playground with a slide and swing set.  And all the other characters had giant bug eyes.  It was, perhaps, then that I realized I did not have a future in drawing. 

3 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Mom on July 2, 2008 at 12:12 am

    Number 62…you do that too? I’ve always alternated my wish between health and wealth or win the lottery (with enough money I can get anything fixed anywhere) but it never works. Well poop! I’ve gone & done it…since I told what my wishes are NOW they will never come true…boo hoo boo hoo! And here’s a thought, when you drive thru a tunnel, do you place your hand on the roof of the car to keep it from falling down ? The worst one is driving on a COVERED BRIDGE OVER WATER…then you have to hold your breath, lift your feet off the floorboard AND hold the roof of the car up…I hate it when that happens!

    Reply

  2. Posted by soundsliketomatoes on July 2, 2008 at 1:14 pm

    Gee, and I was thinking I got all my quirkiness from watching TV.

    Reply

  3. No Kearsie, you were born with the quirkiness. It is passed down from generation to generation. Grandma used to sit on the drums of gasoline, when she was a child, and after taking the cap off, would sniff the gas until she passed out. She said she liked the way it smelled.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

