100 Facts About Me (#6)

51.  It is sad to me that I work with a group of ladies that have never seen the Star Wars series.  There is much Star Wars humor out there, funny videos, and references that go right over their heads. 

52.  I have to be careful of what movies I watch.  I have one of those overactive imaginations you hear about.  Lance and I went to the theater and watched The Sixth Sense and I didn’t sleep AT ALL.  I just layed there and waited for the sun to rise.  Then, while in the shower, I actually made Lance wake up and sit in the bathroom with me. 

53.  This whole scary-movie thing started in the 1st grade when I paid $1.00 to watch Watcher In The Woods, at my school.  They told us it was a Disney movie.  Except, this was a Disney movie that gave me nightmares about “Karen”, a character in the movie who wore white and a blindfold.  I saw her everywhere.  She was lying in the bathtub, in my bed, standing in my closet.  So my mom took me to counseling. 

54.  Actually, this probably all started when I began watching Sesame Street.  There was a big blue monstery guy and he gave me nightmares. 

55.  Sometimes I convince myself that my whole issues with scary movies are over and I sit and watch something like The Ring and I am lying awake all over again, waiting for the sun to rise.

56.  Books can be this way, too.  When I read It, by Stephen King, I had nightmares for three weeks.  If you watched the movie, it was NOTHING compared to the book.  That Mr. King knows how to scare the crap out of you. 

57.  Speaking of Sesame Street, I just love those alien creatures that say “phone, phone phone”, “Yep, yep, yep” “hey, hey, hey”…wouldn’t it be fun to just randomly bust out in some alien Sesame Street phrases?  If I know I’m about to lose my job, I may just do that.

58.  And let’s go back to scary Disney movies.  Anyone see Something Wicked This Way Comes?  That was another scary/freaky/give me nightmares movie.

59.  When I was seven, I went to a friend’s house in my neighorhood who was much older.  She was having a sleepover and all of them were watching a movie called Return of the Zombies.  When I walked out of her house, I can remember being terrified.  I didn’t watch another Zombie movie until I saw Shaun of the Dead, which was pretty funny. 

60.  When I watch scary movies, to this day I will put my hands over my face and watch between my fingers.  Am I a dork, or what.

11 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by fivemoreminutesplease on July 1, 2008 at 2:45 pm

    You are the funniest person I have ever known! I love reading your posts!! They brighten my day…every time I read them!!!! Totally not a dork…I watched a movie that looked really good, but it ended up being really violent and morbid. It was called “The Signal”. Once I started watching it, I had to finish it to just see everything turn out ok, but when I was finished watching it, I kept having all of these images flashing through my head of people killing each other…very violently. It was horrible. Movies affect you…when I saw Ozzie Osbourne on TV when I was a kid, he freaked me out, I had nightmares, and am still afraid of him today…go figure!

    Reply

  2. Posted by soundsliketomatoes on July 1, 2008 at 3:10 pm

    I tell ya what, watch that show “The Osbournes” on MTV. Watch Ozzy stumble around, mumble a whole lot and you will lose your fear of him quick. Instead, you will kind of laugh.

    Reply

  3. Posted by trinette on July 1, 2008 at 5:54 pm

    I remember that Watcher in the Woods movie. I felt so betrayed by the adults in my life. They should have known better!

    Reply

  4. Posted by soundsliketomatoes on July 1, 2008 at 6:15 pm

    I know! They don’t know how they’ve broken my mind!

    Reply

  5. Posted by Mom on July 2, 2008 at 12:07 am

    Sesamie Street? I thought it was the Beatles White Album…Number Nine Number Nine Number Nine…I was scared to be alone at 9pm for YEARS! And Shanon will tell you it was either the Cookie Monster or Count Dracula that gave you your first early nightmares…what were they THINKING when they designed blue hairy things trying to get everybody’s cookies (okay bucco, let me toss mine & THEN you can have ’em!) and DRACULA muppetts counting everyting in a Transylvanian accent…or wait, was that a PENNSYLVANIAN accent? Hummm…number nine number nine number nine yep yep yep hey hey hey…..

    Reply

  6. Posted by soundsliketomatoes on July 2, 2008 at 1:12 pm

    You’re too funny, Mom!

    Reply

  7. I watched a movie with Kathy called Dead And Buried, and it scared the bejeebers out of me. I still can’t watch it again. Nor do I want to. And I read a book called 666 and it took me 3 days to read it and it gave me horrible nightmares all 3 days. Even the picture on the front cover and the writers photo on the back cover gave me the willies. I had to turn the cover inside out. I no longer watch horror movies.

    Reply

  8. AH!!!! I hated “Something Wicked This Way Come” What my parents were thinking when they let me watch this, I have NO idea!!! I couldnt sleep for days!!! They still own it and joke with me about watching it. EEEK… get the chills just thinking about it! BLEH

    Reply

  9. Posted by soundsliketomatoes on July 9, 2008 at 1:20 pm

    I know! What a creepy movie!

    Reply

  10. I had to walk home from school in fifth grade and I had to walk through our school’s baseball field that was kind of in a valley. I had to walk past a big culvert that dumped water into the creek. I knew IT lived in there and was watching me, taking notes on me and just planning to scare the pants off of me. That culvert still haunts me, and so do clowns. I didn’t even SEE the movie or read the book. Well, I think I saw a few minutes of the movie at a sleepover and decided to pee my sleeping bag so I could go home.

    Reply

  11. Posted by Carrie Mace on June 7, 2009 at 3:07 am

    my first scary movie experience: I watched it after school when my parents weren’t home, I have no idea what movie it was, but someone’s chopped off hand crawled around and strangled people. It took years for me to stop thinking about it when I was alone!
    (Oh, and I love Stephen King)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

