100 Facts About Me (#5)

Three blogs in one day!  I am so wordy today!

41.  I cannot chew gum for more than a few minutes.  It hurts my jaw and I’m convinced all my years as a child chewing away at whale fat or whatever it is has made me have TMJ. 

42.  As a child, I kept my chewed gum on a gum keeper shaped like a porcelain cat.  Chewed wads of gum would sit there, overnight, collecting germ-infested amoeba and the next day I would put this same piece of gum back into my mouth and chew it some more.  Is that not the most disgusting thing ever.

43.  When I leave the house in the mornings, I almost always have wet hair.  I know this is tacky but I don’t blow-dry it because a)  I don’t have time and b)  I don’t care.

44.  The longest I’ve ever gone without a shower was four days.  It was in the Virgin Islands and rather than taking a shower at the back of the sailboat with a sprayer that sort of spit at you, I chose to wait until we docked again.  My hair wasn’t even greasy, is that bad?  Perhaps my pH balance is off somewhere.

45.  While we were in the Virgin Islands, I pooped in the Baths.  I know that’s gross, but you do what you gotta do, ya know?  I discovered something- poop floats.

46.  I say the word warm like “arm” with a “w”.  I am the only person I know to do this.  Most people say it like “war” with an “m”.  And I think they’re weird.

47.  I once dated a guy that told me he thought I looked “thick”.  This was intended to be a compliment, but it only became the knife that has yet to be removed.  Durn you, bad complimenter!

48.  I think I can dance, but I probably can’t.  It’s one of life’s cruel tricks.

49.  That goes for singing, as well.

50.  Is it bad that I still use the same blush from ten years ago?  And even worse that I use it as eye shadow?  I know, I really need an intervention.

9 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by fivemoreminutesplease on June 27, 2008 at 10:24 pm

    Ok, Ok…the gum totally grossed me out!! See, this goes back to the root of my spit issues! I can’t even use my own straw after a certain amount of elapsed time. I love you, though!! Yucky gum and all!!

    Reply

  2. Posted by cristy on June 28, 2008 at 3:10 am

    Two things. While I was reading this, I was eating milk duds and I was thinking “hmmm, I think I might be getting TMJ, weird.”

    Second, gum comes from a tree, or at least some of it does. I know this because we used to go to the Edison Home where they would go through a whole routine about how Edison would chew the gum that he made from the trees. There is actually a big blob of gum on the floor there. An experiment, I guess. Entertaining blog. Oh, and do I know the bad complimenter? Sounds familiar.

    Reply

  3. Posted by soundsliketomatoes on July 1, 2008 at 1:03 pm

    Rest assured, somewhere along the way I realized how repulsive it is to chew and re-chew gum, so that’s over.

    And yes, Cristy, I would say you know the bad complimenter. And thanks for the gum knowledge. Now I won’t get so grossed out when I think I’m chewing whale blubber.

    Reply

  4. You were in an auditioned choir in college, so you CAN TOO sing!

    Reply

  5. Posted by soundsliketomatoes on July 1, 2008 at 4:05 pm

    Ahem, actually, what Prof. Boozer said was “You have an excellent CHOIR voice”. So, technically, that just means I am on key and am loud. Not “You are an excellent voice, let me give you five solos for your very own and by the way, would you give me your autograph in advance?”.

    Reply

  6. Posted by Vamori Burgheim on July 5, 2008 at 9:08 am

    hey… I say warm as in arm with a w…. How does one twist their tongue to war with an m??? I tried it, doesn’t work!

    The rest of the world says “to-mah-to”!

    So how do you say “envelope”, as in a snail mail necessity? “On-vell-ope, or en-vell-ope? I’m with the latter, not the former. Better yet, how would you say “mature”? My 2nd ex-husband said “ma-tour”, I’ve always contended that it should be “ma-chure” He also pronounced chasm with a soft ch, as in cheese. I say chasm should be like this: kasm.

    words….

    Reply

  7. Posted by soundsliketomatoes on July 5, 2008 at 1:35 pm

    Phew! Thanks Auntie Vam, I was beginning to feel all alone in my “warm”. We both say words the same way. The only weird way I say anything is I say “either” as in eye-ther. Thanks for commenting!

    Reply

  8. Same COLOR blush and eyeshadow or same EXACT blush and eyeshadow? I know my comments are waaaaaaaaay past your posting date, but, in case you still have them…yeah, they are bacteria party hot spots waiting to give you conjunctivitis…throw ’em out! Otherwise, if the colors are good for you, keep buying ’em…

    Reply

  9. Posted by Carrie Mace on June 7, 2009 at 3:00 am

    LOL you make me laugh at the most ordinary things! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

