Cell phones + public bathrooms = blog fodder

Ok folks, let’s you and me have a little heart to heart.  Now I realize that the possession of a cell phone and the human free will allows conversation to happen just about anywhere, so long as your cell tower allows it.  But there is a time and a place.  And the Walmart public bathroom is not the time or the place to have a discussion with someone about your weekend plans while you are using the privy.  Come on.

Bathroom sounds are bad enough.  If it’s not my four year old exclaiming very loudly that she has to poop RIGHT NOW, it’s the elderly woman two stalls away that sounds like she took that song beans, beans, good for the heart a little too seriously.  But add to that the cell phone conversation of a woman who is very loudly arguing with her husband that he doesn’t need to know where she is because he doesn’t tell her where he is all the time and so it’s none of his business and she is at Walmart and she will buy what she wants, thank you very much and would he just please stop calling and checking up on her she is a busy woman and has a life, blah blah blah.

Geez.

Now, that is not to say that I do not multitask at home.  When you live in a tiny box with three other warm bodies, two of which who can’t stand a closed door, privacy is very limited and if you want to talk without little pitchers who have ears listening to every word being said, you do what you gotta do.  But not in a public setting!

I once was at a Cracker Barrell and was, ahem, visiting my friend, John (what Lance always says) when I heard from the stall next to me:

STALL NEIGHBOR:  Ahem…Hello?

ME:  … (thinking, should I answer?)

STALL NEIGHBOR:  Hello? 

ME:  … (thinking, is she out of toilet paper?)

STALL NEIGHBOR:  Can you hear me?

ME:  (About to answer) —

STALL NEIGHBOR:  I’m at Cracker Barrell about to have lunch…blah blah blah

 

I’m telling you folks, people are in the bathrooms with you.  It’s bad enough we have to hear each other USING the bathrooms, we don’t want to hear your phone conversations, too!

5 responses to this post.

  1. I am appalled that people actually do this! But I really do despise cell phones(even though I insist on carrying one everywhere I go, just in case). What gets me riled up with cell phones, is that people seem to lose all sense of courtesy when that thing is attached to their hip. I dont know how many times I have been mid-conversation.. IN PERSON.. with someone, just to be rudely cut off when their side starts buzzing and singing. And rather than check it, make sure its not an emergency, and resume the conversation… I get put on hold so they can share all the latest gossip over the phone! If that doesnt let you know just how boring you are to your friends, I dont know what does!!! haha So now, when I get put on hold in person, I just say my goodbyes and go about my business. I sure dont want to waste anyone’s time, ya know?

    Reply

  2. Posted by soundsliketomatoes on June 24, 2008 at 1:06 pm

    I agree! I especially get annoyed at the dinner table and the cell phone rings and you are sitting there eating your green beans listening to someone talk about NOTHING. Ack!

    Reply

  3. Posted by candy0108 on June 25, 2008 at 4:51 pm

    The only person I talk with on the phone while in the bathroom (at my house of course) is my mother in law and that is only because she did it first and I know she could careless… I hate when people are on the phone in line as well because they can’t possibly be paying attention and it is rude to the cashier as well and the bathroom convo… well that is just nasty and inconsiderate they are not careful with conv in front of your children as well it’s kinda like the bathroom writings in the stalls I hate that Jacob can read now … :/

    Reply

  4. Posted by soundsliketomatoes on June 25, 2008 at 4:54 pm

    Well, I try not to “multitask” with anyone other than family, because I know they don’t care either. I agree, cell phone users who talk while in line or driving are careless-I don’t care how many studies are out there that show otherwise! *I* don’t pay attention while on the phone!

    Reply

  5. HAHAH! I totally laughed out loud, so loud I can’t use the LOL thingie…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

