Fan letters and other soul baring experiences

Dear Matthew Broderick,

I am a really big fan of yours.  I have seen “Ferris Bueller’s Day Off” at least 20 25 times and I have watched it so much that I can say the lines along with the movie.  It makes my mom crazy, but I can’t help it.  What kind of hobbies do you like to do?  I like to play Star Wars with my cousins.  I get to be Princess Leah and I wear ear muffs.  It’s fun. 

Just a sample from the one and only fan letter I ever sent to a celebrity.  I was 11 and living in Southern California.  I can remember the angst and toil, the rough drafts, the courage building it took to sit down and write something for someone else’s eyes to see.  

I can remember writing in a diary when I was a kid.  I recently found my first diary and most of the entries were something like this:

Dear Diary,

I fell off my bike.  Now I have a goose egg on my forehead.  But the weather was really nice.  Your friend, Kearsie

That entry about my bike accident was as interesting as I got.  I can remember my mother telling me that if I had trouble writing in my diary, I could always talk about the weather.  Well, I’ve got the year 1982 chronicled pretty well. 

I did try to journal (notice the grown up word “journal” since, yo, I am a grown up, I swear) when I was pregnant with my first child.  I was obsessed with food, apparently, because the first few entries are all about what foods I ate that day.  I suppose I thought Emma might be interested?  I don’t know.  Perhaps in fear of the dreaded nausea/vomiting, I wrote about every crumb of food that passed these lips.  Funny because a few weeks later, I abandoned the journal and just tried to keep food down.  Fun times.

Some of my favorite things to come across are all the funky notes I wrote to my friends in middle school and early high school.  They are hilarious.  “I love so-and-so”  TLA 4EVER.  Kearsie and so-and-so BFF, LYLAS, Class of ’93 rocks.  And the actual content, man…riveting!  I went through a phase where I wrote my favorite song lyrics.  I drew daisies all over paper which decorated my thoughts on boys, my classes, and my plans for that Friday night.  They make me smile. 

I have a few letters from my high school BFF, a series of letters when we were really angry with each other and thought we would take the mature route and write it all down on paper.  I can’t help sort of squirming uncomfortably when I read them, but they are still worth perusing so as to climb back into my high school mind to see what made me emote.

My cousin, Trinette, and I used to live far away from each other (wait, we still do) and would write each other truly hilarious letters where whole paragraphs would consist of some variation of the modern day “LOL”.  We would write “Hahahahahaha, guffaw, guffaw, giggle, giggle, chortle, chortle….ahem.” 

And as I have always been a colloquial queen, anything I ever wrote had a smattering of RAD and DOPE and AWESOME and TUBULAR somewhere in it.  Including my senior AP English paper on Charles Dickens’ Martin Chuzzlewit.  Classy, I know.  Even classier was when I accidentally reffered to one of the characters, Pecksniff, as “Peckersniff”. 

Maybe my love of colloquials is why movies such as “Wayne’s World” and “Clueless” are so appealing to me. 

 

7 responses to this post.

  1. As if! You were just ahead of your time! You were writing in text-speak before texting was available! Ness + Kears = FF! TTFN! TTYL! LYLAS!

    Reply

  2. Posted by soundsliketomatoes on June 18, 2008 at 9:15 pm

    I am so totally a trend setter, word!

    Reply

  3. Posted by trinette on June 21, 2008 at 1:03 am

    lol. I just wrote you a real paper letter a couple of days ago on a whim but haven’t posted it yet. wtfomgrotfbbq!

    Reply

  4. Posted by trinette on June 21, 2008 at 1:08 am

    Ok. I can’t believe you didn’t mention har dee har har

    You used to love that one!

    We are such wierdos. Luvya

    Reply

  5. Posted by soundsliketomatoes on June 23, 2008 at 1:41 pm

    I knew I was missing a laugh, har de har har sounds right! We are weirdos! Luv you too!

    Reply

  6. Posted by Christa on June 26, 2008 at 3:21 am

    Kearsie,
    I just watched the BBC movie ‘Martin Chuzzlewit’ and finally figured out what that book was about! I miss you reading Shakespeare!
    Love ya!

    Reply

  7. Posted by soundsliketomatoes on June 26, 2008 at 1:08 pm

    Well, I’m glad one of us knows, because I am clueless. How now, brown cow? I miss you!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

