The Happening, which wasn’t happening

So all you blog fans of mine (all five of you) know that last Friday was my 10 year anniversary.  We went out to eat (not sushi this time, we went to PF Chang’s) and watched The Happening. 

Now, I am a big M. Night Shyamalan fan.  I have watched all his films, and aside from his latest Lady in the Water, I have enjoyed them all.  I think he has an awesome imagination, and I appreciate his casting choices.  Just wanted to add that little disclaimer in case Mr. Shyamalan happened upon this little rant.  I’m a big fan, yo!

But The Happening was a terrible movie, in my humble opinion.  I won’t spoil it for you movie watchers, but it was pretty much a movie about all the crazy ways in which people kill themselves.  Death on a loop, suicide over and over and over again.

Not only that, but each movie is kind of like the director’s message, right?  A sort of commentary on the world.  Well, according to this movie, we are going to be killed by plant life.  That’s right.  Hollywood is encouraging us to GO GREEN.  After this movie, I FEAR GREEN.  Almost like KILL THE GREEN.  If it is a plant, destroy it before it destroys me.  And that was unsettling.  Perhaps that was his Mr. Shyamalan’s intention, unsettle the viewer, make them look at the grass with a new respect. 

Not too long ago, I developed a healthier view for the plant life in the vicinity of my house.  You can read about that here, if you have time, energy and a desire to climb further into the crazy mazes of my mind.  If you don’t, I’ll just sum it up as, the grass is taking over, must chop it into submission with the lethal weapon also known as THE LAWNMOWER.

I was also very bothered by the acting.  Disclaimer #2- also a fan of Marky Mark.  I thought he did a great job in Renaissance Man and Shooter.  But I was NOT into his performance in this movie.  I felt he was very stilted, robotic, just not connected.  Also, there were like, fifteen unneccessary close-ups with Zooey Deschanel.  While she has gorgeous blue eyes, I don’t think I need to see them to gauge her emotions. 

I’m being harsh, I know.  But I didn’t walk out of the theater happy to have parted with seventeen dollars and a half empty bag of popcorn. 

If you’ve seen it, tell me what you think.

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by ranmon on June 18, 2008 at 6:50 pm

    Ahhhhhh! Attack of the killer….trees?

    Ahhhhhh! She cheated on him with…tiramisu?

    Ahhhhhh! This movie is rightfully rated….”R”?

    So this movie was just “overdone” in my eyes like you said. And yup- the acting was so dismal. I felt 12 year olds had more emotion. Poor Marky Mark…I’m a fan of the guy myself and I can’t defend him on this one. I wish I never saw this one 😦

    Reply

  2. Posted by soundsliketomatoes on June 18, 2008 at 8:04 pm

    I agree! Why, oh, why this movie couldn’t have had that element that kept me on the edge of my seat like “The Sixth Sense” or make me totally have an AHA moment like “The Village”, it’s just a shame!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

