Irrational fears

I was watching a show the other day and I heard the expression, “my biggest fear”.

I got to wondering about all the fears out there.

Fear of spiders

Fear of snakes

Fear of heights

Fear of failure

Commitment

Clowns

Ghosts

The Dark

… I’m sure there are more, weird stuff like fear of the color red or fear of bananas.  You’re right, Mr. Morrison, people are strange.

Through my thirty-two years, I have had several fears.  One I still battle today is the fear of who might behind the shower curtain.  I’m not sure when this fear developed, perhaps in my early teens when I began watching scary movies.  I HAD to peek behind the shower curtain, just to be sure.  Add to that the story I heard in high school of “Bloody Mary” and for the next few years, through the power of suggestion, I was terrified the few moments of switching off the lights and exiting the bathroom.  Stupid, I know, but aren’t most fears?

Here is another irrational fear–dolls.  I think they are creepy, disgusting, terrifying in their eerie stillness.  I especially can’t stand those dolls with the blinky eyes that move when you lay the doll down.  Blech.  When Emma, my oldest, had her first birthday, she was given one of those creepy dolls that kind of looked like her with the yucky blinky eyes.  To add insult to injury, when you pressed the hands together, it prayed one of those high pitched, only-heard-in-your-nightmare voices “Now I lay me down to sleep, I pray the Lord my soul to keep, Angels watch me through the night, Wake me in the morning light.  Amen.”  It seemed rather innocent, but I tucked it away in the closet, facing backwards so I wouldn’t have to stare into it’s glass eyes.  But then one day Emma spotted the doll box and was so enamored she had to have it.  The beginning of the dolls in the our house.  Now I’m surrounded by Barbies, creepy blinky chanting dolls and yucky rubbery babies.  At least we don’t have a Cabbage Patch doll that eats hair.

Now the girls are asking for those life-sized dolls that show up at Walmart around Christmas.  I may have to carry around some holy water and a crucifix…

What are your biggest fears?

11 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by trinette on May 31, 2008 at 7:44 am

    Regarding the dolls, I’m so glad it’s not just me. Most girls love stuffed animals and dolls in their bedroom. It always creeped me out. Those beady eyes…

    There was one friend in high school that I only slept over once; she had dolls lining all the walls four shelves high of her bedroom. I slept on the couch in the living room.

    Reply

  2. Posted by Candy on June 1, 2008 at 2:31 am

    first of all you are so funny… my fears are to complex I don’t have like one simple fear. My number one fear is failure it leads to much anxiety and to much thinking… the other is that sometimes my mind will create this whole senerio of someone breaking in and what I would do how I would get the kids and so on my mind is the scariest place of all I would say and I absolutely can’t watch scary movies or movies with suspence my heart can’t take it I stopped watching the show 24 because I thought I would have a heart attack if I kept watching… and the doll thing I can relate I hate porcaline dolls baby dolls don’t bother me but the more realistic ones are creepy..

    Reply

  3. The Dark. And I am weak-minded when it comes to scary movies — when Erica and I went to see “Scream” I had to sleep with the lights on that night. There are several things I’m still actually pretty scared of — did I mention The Dark? — but having kids, I think especially girls, I push those fears (spiders, thunderstorms, things like that) aside because I’m AFRAID of passing those irrational fears on to them. As for The Dark, let’s just say I keep flashlights nearby in case of power failures. I don’t know what it is about that.

    Reply

  4. Posted by Missy on June 2, 2008 at 1:48 am

    I wasn’t allowed to watch MTV when I was growing up, but I snuck and did all the time. When I was really young, I saw an Ozzy Osbourne video that really freaked me out and I am scared to death of him to this day! I am also terrified of snakes…I was bitten by one as a child, but I don’t remember it. All I know is that I can’t even go into the reptile thing at the zoo! I even have nighmares that keep me up all night long sometimes! But my real fears are of things like something bad happening to me and leaving my kids without a mother or something bad happening to my kids….just the typical mommy stuff, I guess??

    Reply

  5. Bug creep me out. I have an irrational fear of spiders. It is so bad that all I can do is freeze, point at it and scream “Bug, bug, bug”. But the worst fear of all, worse than the thing under the bed that will pull me under if I hang my leg off the bed in my sleep, is my fear of closets. I cannot open a closet in an apartment or a house that I haven’tt been in before. Once they are opened by somebody else and I see that they are safe, then I am fine with them. But I just know someone is hiding in there or else there is a dead body in there. I’ve been this way with closets since the 60’s.

    Reply

  6. Posted by Misty on June 5, 2008 at 6:27 pm

    My house burning down and not being able to get the kids out. We have a basement and I have these images of the kids being stuck in their rooms or in the window wells not able to climb out. We moved Jaeden upstairs to the room next to us because of this fear. I think every mothers or wife’s rational fear is harm done to their family that they can’t control or abandonment by a spouse. Other than that I’m not sure about a irrational fear. Maybe of getting some kind of weird growth that doctors can’t explain? I dunno. There’s a statistic of like 85% of all fears never come to be. Crazy! No wonder God tells us not to fear or worry, its pretty much all for not.

    Reply

  7. Posted by soundsliketomatoes on June 5, 2008 at 6:34 pm

    I once had a dream about our house burning down (it was our first time in a two story house) and both my kids and Lance were all unconscious and my dream was about who would I save first. I could only save one and it was a terrifying dream. We have one of those silly fire ladders now but it still seems a horrible thing.

    Reply

  8. Posted by Jen on June 6, 2008 at 4:20 pm

    I just have to say I have been reading these “posts” of yours and not only are you a great writer, you are hilarious!! I was reading them at work (I know, everyone needs a break now and again right?) and I laughed outloud multiple times! I love it!!
    And just for the record I have this fear of spiders that I feel could possibly be a little out of control. If something wisps along the side of my leg, I instantly freak. Its the spider that has some to kill me. If I turn off the lamp, one is likely to come down on its little web and bite me right on the hand (just like Arachnaphobia, did you see that? I should have known better) They are the tiniest little threat but it my eyes they are 10 times the size of me and they are all out for blood. Luckily I have my precious, knight in shiny armor, Gavan, a well established 8 yr old to save me.

    Reply

  9. Posted by soundsliketomatoes on June 6, 2008 at 4:36 pm

    While I don’t love spiders, I’m also not a big fan. Especially those ginormous wolf spiders from Florida. Yuck. They are right out of that movie Arachnaphobia. Hairy legs and all. So, I’m right there with ya.

    Reply

  10. OK…I am afraid of…
    Bugs
    Snakes
    Spiders
    BATS!
    Germs
    Viruses
    Diseases
    Airplanes
    Dark Alleys
    Tom Cruise
    Oprah
    Tom Cruise and Oprah in a dark alley
    Water
    Ingrown toenails
    The Dentist
    Acquiring a latex allergy
    Getting diarrhea in a public bathroom
    Tampons
    Overlapping my Advil dosages
    Salmonella and E-Coli
    Stepping on a rusty nail
    Reading the paper
    Bird poop
    People seeing the cellulite on the back of my legs when I wear shorts
    Being chased
    I am afraid that Jim and Pam won’t get married
    Fleas
    Plague
    Drive by shootings
    Alien abductions
    Camera flashes

    Yeah, that’s about it, I think…

    Reply

  11. Posted by Carrie Mace on June 5, 2009 at 1:51 am

    …going to sleep when my husband is not home. This poses a problem since he is gone overnight every third night! 😛

    Reply

Leave a Reply

