Is that you, Casper?

One of my favorite channels on TV is the Sci-Fi channel.  I love all things science fiction, from the books to the movies to the TV shows that feature what our imaginations can create from the unknown.  As far as books go, Orson Scott Card is my favorite author.  Movies, pretty much all of them, since I cut on teeth on the original Star Wars.  TV shows, my all time favorite is called “Ghost Hunters”.

Now, let me just preface by saying that when I first watched this, my thoughts were along the lines of can you believe what passes for entertainment these days? or something equally as snide.  But I was soon hooked, not because of the whole ghost-thing, but because there is a huge element of we-are-not-alone-here, a kind of wake up to the fact that there is more than just what we see. 

“Ghost Hunters” is a show featuring Jason Hawes and Grant Wilson, two Roto-Rooter employees that start up a team of investigators called T.A.P.S., that stands for The Atlantic Paranormal Society.  They are called into homes, buildings, different locations that are rumored as being “haunted” and investigate the claims using various devices like cameras, voice recordings and other uber-techno goodies.  It’s a really fun show to watch.  I’ve even got Lance flipping there when he’s in control of the remote.

Now, I personally, do not believe in ghosts.  I am what you classify as a “skeptic” at least when it comes to ghosts.  But I do read the Bible and there are places in the Bible that tell us there are different spirit-like beings that are here, sometimes seen, sometimes not. 

Yesterday, Lance showed me a photograph from Fox News, our source for current events.  Here’s the photo:

This was taken by a digital camera at a wedding in a castle in Scotland.  You can read about it here.

Here’s what I really want you to see in this photo:

 

As you can see (by my really bad insert-photo-abilities), there’s a HAND

 

Once again, I’m not saying there are ghosts, but there is some weird and unexplainable stuff.

What do you think?

11 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Cory on May 29, 2008 at 3:57 pm

    I do believe in ghosts only I beleive they are demonic and not actual humans stuck here because of unsetteled scores or whatnot. Lisa loves that show. Nice blog!

    Reply

  2. I tend to ignore that which I don’t understand well… Or that which freaks me completely out. This falls into the latter. I’m a skeptic too, but when I see things like that, I first think about trick photography and all the neat-o things people can do with digital images these days — but pictures like that have been around long before Photoshop came to be. Anyway… I’m a big ol’ chicken and just try not to think about it at all!

    Reply

  3. Posted by soundsliketomatoes on May 29, 2008 at 4:17 pm

    There are a few episodes that I’ve seen on Ghost Hunters that show a flashlight coming on, a picture moving by itself, a lamp scooting across a table, all are possible tricks, yes, but how did they do it? That’s why I watch the show, I think, to see if I can figure it out!

    And I agree, Cory, I think they’re demons, too! Say hi to Lisa!

    Reply

  4. Not only do I believe in ghost, so does Grandma. I don’t think all of them are evil, but I also don’t think they are all “friendly” either. Ask Grandma about the house we lived in in Oregon. She will tell you we were not alone there.

    Reply

  5. Posted by Christina on May 29, 2008 at 8:10 pm

    I absolutely believe in ghosts and the paranormal. I do NOT believe that ‘ghosts’ are the souls of people ‘stuck’ on their way to Heaven or Hell. But I believe in the Holy Ghost, and therefore, believe that there are spirits as well that share this existence with us. I do believe that those spirits could be either demonic or angelic. (Frank Perretti was a huge influence in this realm of thinking) If we experience a ghost-like encounter, I believe that we are seeing something of the spiritual warfare that takes place around us and in us. BUT.. haha.. that is my own opinion, and like lots of others, someday I will know if I was right or wrong, and at that point it won’t matter one bit! 😉

    Reply

  6. Posted by phinehas3 on May 30, 2008 at 1:12 am

    I think the existance of ghosts is a load of crap. With the exception of the Father, Son and Holy Spirit, there are human souls, demons, and angels – that’s it. I believe what people are claiming to be ghosts are demons. For those who say, “My dead grandfather appeared and told me where he buried the hidden treasure in the back yard” – this is nothing more than demonic forces trying to steal your attention away from Christ and onto something else. The thief comes to steal, kill, and destroy. If it has to be in the form of dead relatives to steal your attention off Christ, then he is willing to do it.

    Reply

  7. Posted by Rhonda on May 30, 2008 at 5:17 am

    I also enjoy watching “Ghost Hunters”. What I love about Jason and Grant (especially Grant) is that they try to de-bunk the unexplained activity before moving forward with their supernatural explanations. I share Cory’s opinion of what ghosts are. When I watch something that’s really creepy like a lamping moving across a table, a rubber ball rolling slightly or hear some creepy voice over their tapes, I still get that crawling up my spine feeling. Which is a ‘good’ thing because to me, it reinforces that the Holy Spirit is within me and can sense something that isn’t quite right. Unbelievers would attribute this feeling to just the creepiness of ghosts and supernatural things but this is my view of whats going on.

    Reply

  8. Posted by Rhonda on May 30, 2008 at 5:26 am

    Hey who changed my word ‘lamp’ to ‘lamping’. Maybe it was a ghost!

    Reply

  9. Posted by Misty on June 5, 2008 at 6:17 pm

    Ever since we watched white noise I have been creeped out. Not because I believe in ghosts but more so that I could see these entities as nothing more than demonic beings. Jesse also made a comment about healings that people do without cutting or leaving any marks that are demonic in nature. This reminds me that the battle is not about flesh but there are things vying for this world and its inhabitants that will continue to cause confussion and blur the lines. I saw a picture on line of a guy at a wedding with a dog demon peering over his shoulder. He came to God after he saw this and recognized the drug addiction in his life as the dog demon. Really amazing stuff! I think we should be acquainted with the supernatural so we don’t fear it because it will no longer be the unknown and even if we don’t know it, God does and that gives me courage to face creepy stuff. I guess if angels can show themselves in differnt forms than so can demons.

    Reply

  10. Posted by soundsliketomatoes on June 5, 2008 at 6:35 pm

    Wow, I really really am interested in seeing this picture. Anyone know the link?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

