Dark chocolate fortunes

Yesterday Lance and I were having our daily Dove dark chocolate and the little tin foil fortune printed inside read “Remember Your Firsts”.  I got to thinking about all my firsts …

My first cassette tape (a little rectangle thing with spools of tape that you put in what’s called a “cassette player” for you young’uns) was none other than Michael Jackson’s Thriller.  It was the coolest thing ever and it went perfectly with my new walkman with TWO earphone jacks.  I’m pretty sure I strong armed my family and friends to jack in with me and listen.  I was six. (And for those of you who’ll remember those big black glossy discs, my first record was Air Supply’s Lost In Love, and I forced the kids on the bus to hear my rendition of “All Out of Love” several dozen times, I’m sure.)

My first crush that I can remember was on a boy in the first grade named David Weaver.  He had blonde hair and blue eyes and I thought he was so cool.  I had my birthday party at a roller skating rink and invited David and he and I skated to the couples song.  Pitter patter, my beating heart.  I wore my very favorite purple shirt and he gave me a Santa Claus pin as a birthday present.  I remember I also received some Strawberry Shortcake underwear and was MORTIFIED to open it in front of him.  He also met up with me during the Fur Rendezvous (a big celebration in Anchorage coinciding with the Alaskan Iditarod Sled Race) and we trumped through the cold snow in our moon boots and he bought me a roach clip with purple feathers.  Oh the memories… 

My first kiss was with a boy named Chuck.  I was in the 9th grade and during Homecoming as I was helping to decorate the freshman float, Chuck kissed me in the back of the station wagon of a friend’s mom.  Not exactly the most glamorous kiss, kind of gross, startling to be sure.  Not at all like I thought it would be.  And then Chuck made out with another girl at the Homecoming Game and thus ended the love story of Kearsie and Chuck.  I wonder whatever happened to him?

My first job (that I actually received a paycheck from complete with large chunks of money going to strange names like FICA) was with True Value Hardware.  I was 16 and two blocks away from my house was a little struggling hardware store that needed an Office Assistant.  I worked two days a week after school and made $5.00 an hour.  I thought I was the STUFF.  I worked at that job for two years and finally moved up to being a cashier.  To this day I won’t shop at an Ace Hardware, because I’m still loyal to the trusty True Value name.

My first car was a 1984 Dodge Rampage in red.  Here’s a picture for your viewing pleasure:

Click to view image details

Yes, I was in perhaps the ugliest car ever made, but I loved it.  Me and The Page would tear up and down the streets of Anchorage, listening to my mixed tapes in the cassette player that had no rewind button.  My car was passed through several of my friends before I got my lucky hands on it.  It had actually been driven through a swamp before my time with her.  I bought it for $500 and I sometimes use the expression “That costs more than my first car!!”.  Unfortunately, The Page got to be too old, too run down, had asthmatic type breathing, so I had to put her to sleep.  Twas a very sad day.  You don’t see too many Dodge Rampages on the road these days, but when I do, my heart beats for my old Page.

What were some of your firsts?

 

8 responses to this post.

  1. First friend (other than my sister). Heather, in kindergarten. We climbed to the top of some piece of playground equipment and one of us said to the other, “Wanna be best friends?” We still keep in touch. I took her engagement photos.

    First kiss. 7th Grade, 13-years-old. Charlie. In the middle of the switch between B and C lunch. In the middle of the cafeteria. So gross. So, so gross. He always like to lay one on me in the most public of places. Bleah. I think it was a whole year before I kissed someone again after him.

    First job. Checkers, baby. Grease pit. I considered it quite the promotion when I moved to Chick-Fil-A.

    First love. Chris. 🙂

    Reply

  2. First CD, “Back for the Attack” by Dokken. It had the song from one of the Nightmare on Elm Street movies (#3, I think) that I shouldn’t have watched…

    First car was actually a truck, a 1978 Datsun pickup. My granddad gave it to me and helped me fix it up. I had it painted white with a single black pinstripe and matching wheels (wheel covers, actually). I lowered it myself. It was hot.

    First kiss was Katherine on a church trip. I know, I’m bad. I still actually regret that one. Jesus forgave me and still let me marry the girl I was madly in love with (no, it wasn’t Katherine).

    Reply

  3. Posted by Christina on May 27, 2008 at 5:05 pm

    Ah Firsts… First, let me say.. I LOVE Dove Promises!!! I have the wrappers as bookmarks in my Bible… little reminders of favorite verses and favorite quotes… (not to mention they are sooooo yummy!! lol)

    My first tape… a recorded tape of Tiffany, given to me by my 3rd grade boyfriend, Keith, who was set up with me by his big sister who thought I was the ‘cutest thing’..grrr I had NO idea what ‘going together’ meant… but the tape was nice!

    My first kiss… I was 21!!! Yup… waited that long for my first kiss. Too bad it was with a guy who freaked out when he found out I wanted to wait till I got married to do anything other than kiss…

    My first car… a 84 Dodge Omni, dubbed by my friends ‘the micromachine’… was metallic blue (in that the paint had glitter in it?!?!) was stick-shift, and I hated it the entire time I drove it, BUT then when I sold it, I wanted it back sooo badly!!! 😉

    My first job… Counselor-in-Training at Camp Victory. I loved EVERY single minute I spent there… If ever there was an ideal job, it would be to work at CV. My little utopia in southern Alabama… How I miss that place!

    My first love… and my biggest heartbreak… Jon (and its true what they say, you never forget that first love, no matter how hard you try… haha… BUT God worked that out better than I ever could have dreamed… so no complaints!)

    Awesome blog!!!

    Reply

  4. Posted by Andy on May 27, 2008 at 8:13 pm

    Wow! Firsts, where do I begin? Do I do my first job, or kiss, or tape like all the rest?

    NAW!! Let’s do something else…

    My first “pet” was this gopher turtle that I caught in my backyard, we lived out in the boonies, ya know, the “I-can-pee-in-my-yard-and-no-one-will- know-boonies”. I put it in the box that my mom’s new stove came in, but Mom made me let it go after a few hours, I loved that turtle, we had such good times…

    My first real birthday wish was for the G.I. Joe Battleship. I wanted it SO bad. I blew out all my candles, too. I think I got a basketball or something. What a let down.

    My first fight was in Kindergarten with this kid named Charlie. I remember really well because I lost. I went to tell the P.E. teacher and he didn’t do anything but try and cheer me up (lame teacher). I also remember my mom having a yard sale the following week (we had left the boonies) and Charlie and his mother came to the yard sale. I just went inside, I was disgusted that he would come to my house after such an embarrassing display at school.

    BTW, my first job, The Chicken Shack – didn’t eat fried chicken for two years after I went off to college. First kiss, Karen Redden, a disgusting debacle in front of everyone at Bartow Middle School. First Tape – I have no idea, too much life and too many kids to remember something like that.

    Thanks for the trip down memory lane, Kearse, you have always been a good friend, even when I first met you.

    Reply

  5. Posted by Candy on May 28, 2008 at 8:34 pm

    first friend Mandy Bender first grade and I still she her on myspace

    First job was Publix and I like you and very loyal and shop at the same Publix I worked at 15 years ago wow I am old..

    First kiss 7th grade in front of the whole school after lunch with Paul Butler he was chewing watermelon bubble gum the whole thing freaked me out..

    First car was my Plymouth Acclaim that you know well and became Daisy’s first car as well still miss it to this day…

    Reply

  6. Posted by soundsliketomatoes on June 4, 2008 at 1:38 pm

    Oh the Plymouth Aclaim! Canders, thanks so much for letting me drive it to Walmart and back and sharing your car! And for our crazy road trips when you and Larry switched seats while driving on I-75, pyschos! Listening to music, laughing and talking about boys. Sigh, I miss your car, too!

    Reply

  7. Posted by Julie Rodgers on October 14, 2008 at 9:27 pm

    First cassette tape: Debbie Gibson. Shortly thereafter I learned to play “Lost in Your Eyes” on the piano. And yes, I got a floppy hat like Debbie Gibson’s.

    First concert: The Beach Boys. They were doing a reunion tour when I was like in 5th grade, and that year my brother, sister and I had all stayed on the A-B honor roll at school, so our parents took us. The crowd bounced beach balls the whole time. It was really cool. “Good Vibrations” is still one of my favorite all-time songs.

    First love: Jay Brown. He drove a black TransAm and played football. What more could a girl ask for?

    Reply

  8. Posted by Carrie Mace on June 5, 2009 at 1:41 am

    LOL ok, here goes
    First love: Ric Jordan in 2nd grade, he was dreamy, had long hair. But he was a player so it never worked out
    First kiss: Tony DeMarzo, outside the band room, 8th grade. He stuck his tongue in my mouth and didn’t move it, I was pretty sure that wasn’t how it was supposed to go. I wasn’t really impressed, he never got a second one.
    First car: 1977 Dodge Colt, 4 speed stick shift, am/fm only. Loved that little car, only took like $3 a week in gas…awesome
    First job: 18th street Deli; I made sandwiches and various breakfast/lunch fare. It was there I realized I was pretty good with the public

    Reply

Leave a Reply

