The MTV in my mind

I love music.  I’m sitting here at my desk with my outdated iPod Shuffle listening to a conglomeration of music that could only be appreciated by me, probably.  A little Jewel, a little CCR, some U2, a smattering of the Beatles, the Weepies, the soundtrack for Surf’s Up (because, yo, it rocks!)…it’s funny-as I’m sitting here listening to various songs, I’m taken back to certain times in my life when that particular song was imbedded. 

U2, the Mamas and the Papas, the Beatles (particulary Sgt. Pepper’s) remind me of a stint in Florida and I’m on the front steps of my house with Kellie, my BFF in 8th grade.  Her favorite U2 song at that time was “Sunday Bloody Sunday” and to this day I can’t hear that without thinking of her.  We used to write notes back and forth with our favorite Beatles lyrics.  I introduced her to the Mamas and the Papas and she introduced me to Jimmy Buffet.  Good times, good times…

The other night watching the American Idol finale, I watched the George Michael montage and so wished my high school BFF, Robin was there so we could make fun of that time when we (or more likely I) played the “Listen Without Prejudice” CD over and over again in her room.  Outwardly I would be making fun, but secretly I would be enjoying every minute.

Caedmon’s Call came into my life during college and I can remember the very first time I heard their best song, in my opinion, “There’s a Stirring”.  I was in the chapel and BSU (Baptist Student Union) was just finishing and someone fished out their Caedmon’s Call CD and popped it in.  It was one of those moments when you just stop, and listen, mesmorized.  I remember grabbing someone nearby and asking “who is that??”.  The beginning of a love affair with Caedmon’s Call.

I’m not a country music fan, despite my residence here in the South, but when I hear “Carrying Your Love With Me” by George Strait, I am driving with Lance in his daddy’s pick up, George Strait crooning from the radio.  Lance is singing to me, with his arm crooked over the door, the open window causing me to eat my hair.  It’s a fantastic memory and quite possibly when I fell in love with him for good. 

This morning as I was driving to work, Cyndi Lauper came on and “Girls Just Wanna Have Fun” was playing.  I was suddenly in Southern California, hot and sweaty in my aunt’s van as we were driving to my mother’s dentist appointment in Hollywood.  It’s 1984 and we’re on the freeway when suddenly this little red car zooms in front of our van.  We have to brake, or have an accident and just when the indignation was beginning to flow from the adult’s mouths, a lace gloved hand sticks out of the window, waving an apology.  Then a head follows showing red, chopped up hair on top of Cyndi Lauper’s face.  My first run-in with a celebrity.

For some reason, when I hear CCR’s “Put a Candle in the Window” I am so overwhelmingly reminded of Laura Ingalls Wilder that I yearn for a book.  The only thing I can think of is that as I was reading the series for the umpteenth time, my mother was listening to her music and that song must have played many times.  Or maybe it has to do with that part in the series where Pa gets trapped by the freak blizzard like 100 feet from the cabin and Ma puts a candle in the window so he can see.  Either way, the books and that song go together in my mind.

Pink Floyd and the “Dark Side of the Moon” will forever remind me of John Black in the 10th grade.  We’re sitting in his house and I’m doing my utterly best to look and feel cool and failing miserably.  It could be because the last time I had seen John Black was in 4th grade and was attacking him on the playgroud in the snow.

Supertramp and the Monkees will always be linked with Amy.  Her parents were the coolest and I practically lived at her house for a summer.  I was so amazed to find someone with the same music playing in their house.  But Amy knew all the words and I remember being very impressed.

When I hear Def Leppard I think of Kandee and every note she wrote me and folded up in crazy origami ways had somewhere “I love Joe Elliott” TLA 4ever. 

The New Kids on the Block remind me of middle school and my sister.  I actually watched a concert on TV once with her, probably making it look like I was doing it grudglingly but actually enjoying it. 

In the sixth grade, I had to ride a bus to school and there’s no telling how many days we rode on the bus singing Bon Jovi’s “Shot Through the Heart”.

So many bands remind me of people

The B52s and Phebe

REM and Edie Brockell and Andy and Kelly

The Indigo Girls and Christa

DC Talk and Robin and Kim

Christafari and Allison

Anointed and Kirk Franklin and Sarah and Delana

Sarah Laughing and Crystal

and I could go on and on.  Music and memories.  Sweet connections between me and people that I love. 

 

8 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Kellie on May 23, 2008 at 8:55 pm

    AH! Those were the days!! I too cannot hear anything on Sgt. Pepper’s or Creeque Alley without INSTANTLY being transported back to those steps and the ability to sing an entire album word for word by heart!! Not sure if Creeque Alley was that the name of the album or the song? I just remember it was the title of the book you lent me. I just heard Sunday Bloody Sunday on Pandora yesterday. I can’t hear that without thinking of my brother because it was actually HIS fav and therefore (but default) instantly mine.

    Pink Floyd’s The Wall reminds me of laying out at the beach listening to my older cousins walk man. Alanis Morristte’s You Learn reminds me of the time I was listening to it on my way back to college and got a ticket because I was just enjoying the music and SPEEDING along (to the tune of $200). Head over Feet reminds me of falling in love with Jason (oh let’s not go there for that double disc mixed tape). Oh I could go on and on … but it’s Friday and time for me to get up outta here!!

    Thanks for the memories!!!

    Reply

  2. Posted by Christina on May 24, 2008 at 7:10 am

    Songs DO bring back memories!!! Some of the biggest memories…

    Singing “Blame it on the Rain” with my cousin who was like a brother to me,

    filming my sister and her best friend make thier own music video for “I saw the sign” by Ace of Base,

    visiting my Grandparents in Poland for the first time, and watching a techno music video “Pray” by DJ Bobo,

    celebrating with my church friends in San Antonio for a Lutheran Youth Conference to the music of 4 Non-Blondes “Whats Going on?”,

    riding with my Uncle in his big ugly van as we all belted out “Yellow Submarine”,

    “Cowboy take me away” as Brett and I were driving up to see his folks and I couldnt help but be thankful that God gave ME my very own cowboy!!!…

    and there are so many many more and WILL be so many more that I will associate with Brett, and Stephen, and our lives together.

    Thanks for the trip down memory lane… My life certainly has a soundtrack!!!.. Now to dig out all those cds and cassettes!! hah

    Reply

  3. Posted by Julie Rodgers on May 24, 2008 at 2:22 pm

    Oh this is so fun. . .

    When I hear Enya, I think of me and my Single Days BFF Kelly, on our girls’ trip to Florida. We are sunburned from laying on the hot beach all day with suntan oil frying our bodies, but now the sun is setting and we are sitting in the kiddie pool at our hotel, singing “Only Time” at the top of our lungs and pining away for whoever it was we were in love with at the time.

    When I hear Dave Matthews, I think of the concert that aforementioned BFF Kelly and mutual friend Stephanie and I all went to his outdoor concert in Murfreesboro, TN. That is when I fell in love with Dave Matthews. It’s also the first time Stephanie ever peed outside.

    When I hear “Meet Virginia” by Train, I am back at Ryman Auditorium with Cathryn. Possibly the best night I’ve ever had in Nashville. Also the night I discovered Brandi Carlisle, who opened for Train that night and was amazing in her remake of “Hallelujah”.

    Rascal Flatts “What Hurts the Most” . . . . well that song just makes me cry every time I hear it. I cry for any and every time I’ve hurt. It’s weird.

    That was fun!!

    Reply

  4. Posted by Candy Morris on May 26, 2008 at 6:33 pm

    Music is so healing and emotional.. it and smell can take you back instantly

    I have never been one to stick with one area in music I mostly listed to whatever my friends did…
    High School I remember
    Guns and Roses expecially November Rain with Bff Kim Williams
    Metalica Sandman in the car with my two friends that use to pick me up and take me to school (saving me from the bus ride) short lived because they started smoking gagggg. not so good memories with that one
    Amy Grant Pink paradise ex boyfriend Chris
    Micheal Jacksons comeback in the 90’s Neal my bff at the time we watched the MTV countdown and all to the new release of the music video black or white
    College
    Spice Girls = Sarah -scary spice me- baby spice Daisy – posh and Allison – sporty spice.. lol fun times
    jennifer napp- Glenda playing it loud as I was cleaning up the dorms and moving in as the new RD
    Seal- Jason Curchy (rather not )
    Aerosmith- I don’t wanta miss a thang my GREG
    Charlie Hall marvelous light – Paige
    Our Fbtc finest Strick Force- Jacob
    abc bible verse CD You are the vine I I I I am the branches – Natalie
    I want Candy reminds me of myself.. lol
    I think I did pretty well seeing so I have a horrible memory with song titles and singers..

    Reply

  5. Posted by trinette on May 26, 2008 at 10:25 pm

    To this day, whenever I hear Thriller I think of you. Remember when our parents were visiting a friends house and we watched MTV and this song came on. You jumped up and started dancing and singing along. You even got me to sing with you. The only other thing I remember from that night is that we had homemade sweet and sour chicken with ketchup, brown sugar, and canned pineapples, which I think was the first chinese food I ever ate. Amazing that I like chinese food now.

    Reply

  6. Posted by Kellie on June 2, 2008 at 7:30 pm

    Oh YOU KNOW what I think of when I hear “Blame it on the Rain”
    1989 LEOPARD’S GROWL!! C/O ’93 FRESHMEN *RULE*

    Reply

  7. Posted by soundsliketomatoes on June 2, 2008 at 7:34 pm

    Yes, “Blame it on the Rain” will forever be TAINTED by the memory of the FRESHMAN DEBACLE known as HOMECOMING. Man, they need to play that song on the radio more often…

    Reply

  8. Posted by Carrie Mace on June 5, 2009 at 1:30 am

    I love it, it’s so true how songs link us to our past 🙂
    oh, and your writing is wonderful here in May 2008 ❤

    Reply

Leave a Reply

