Going green with shoes

I love shoes.  Don’t you?  Isn’t there such a thrill when you happen upon that perfect pair of shoes that you just can’t live without?  That accessory that just shouts your personality? 

I came into shoes later in life than most girls.  I was a plain jane simple white shoes gal for the majority of my childhood.  In middle school, it was really in to wear Keds or Hightop Reeboks.  As I have a fashion tendency to always be out, I didn’t wear those glorious shoes of the ’80’s.  I had the off brand, the Walmart or K-Mart brand (or as I always said, K-Mart, fall apart).  And unfortunately, I remember a summer when I wore these really ugly white almost wicker looking sandals that were a tad too big, so I wore them with white cotton socks that were required for P.E.

Yes, I have many awards at home for my fashion sense.  Ahem.

So when I finally began to realize that shoes were, indeed, a most important accessory, a whole new world opened up.  Move over, Imelda Marcos, there’s a new shoe shopper in town.

For Mother’s Day this year, Lance bought me the coolest shoes I’ve owned to date.  We found them at an outdoorsy-type store and I have tried them on at least nineteen times.  Here’s a picture.

Simple GT Jane

What I am the most impressed with is that this is a shoe that is made of recyclable materials.  Here’s a list from the Simple site that explains.

* Crepe is a natural rubber that is tapped from the hevea tree.  It makes a reall squishy outsole!

* This product is made with water-based glues. 

* Jute is 100% biodegradable fiber that coms from a shrub.  We use it as an upper material and also as shoe laces!

* Bamboo is an endless resource because it is so plentiful.  We use it as a super soft lining in some of our shoes!

* Organic cotton is probably the most popular fiber on the plant, when it’s woven into a textile it is soft and breathable.

They are way comfy and stylish in their exuse-me-I-must-go-hug-a-tree kind of way.  I love them!  So stop global warming and save the rainforest and all the endangered species by getting a pair of these really cool shoes!

  

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 
 
 
 

 

 

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Misty on May 24, 2008 at 6:55 pm

    Thoe are some cute shoes and every little bit helps! Go green girl!

    Reply

  2. Posted by Carrie Mace on June 4, 2009 at 9:20 pm

    I came to love shoes late in life too…now I just need a better budget to support it!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

