Iron Man insights

Lance and I are avid movie watchers.  We love to go to the movies and stand in line with the young and old, waiting for our turn to order popcorn and Raisinettes (always my choice).  We shuffle our way into the theater and wiggle ourselves into our seats, hunting for the drink holder and trying not to knock over the popcorn.  I have been known to use my cell phone in the dark, using the low wattage to hunt for that perfect seat. 

We fell in love with each other by the light of the movie screen.  We love to, as Dane Cook so aptly says, critique the previews and decide which movies will have our attention.  I was most excited about the new M. Night Shyamalan movie coming out, called The Happening.  We love the movies.

So it was a date night, and we decided to see Iron Man.  I love me some Robert Downey, Jr.  There were several things that I noticed in watching this movie and I discussed them with Lance afterwards as we ate Steak Out.  We both decided they were worthy of mentioning to you, my avid readers. 

1.  Without spoiling the film for those of you who haven’t seen it yet, I noticed that this was yet again another great idea from Marvel Comics.  How many movies have they made from Marvel?  Any takers?  I don’t fancy myself a comic afficiando, but at least four come to mind.  Except for that strange year back in my early teens that I got really into Elf Quest, I have never really been a comic book reader.  So I love that they made girly girls like me enjoy a movie that was based on a comic book.

2.  Why are so many nemesis in movies bald?  Really, there are so many fictional movie enemies that have no hair.  Lex Luther, Galbatorix in Eragon, that one guy Leech from X-Men…I’m sure there are others.  And now, in Iron Man there are two!  Count ’em!  Two bald men that play an enemy!  Coincidence?  I THINK NOT.

3.  What I was the most impressed with, is that the character Tony Stark is a brilliant man.  He is wealthy, handsome, charming and drives flashy cars, yes, but he got all that by being SMART.  By USING HIS BRAIN, by actually THINKING.  Wouldn’t that be great if people began to hunger not for money, necessarily, or for stuff that money can obtain, but by using their noggins?  By finishing school or picking up a crossword or learning something new.  In our lazy, couch riding society, where the remote control is the link to the outside world, I fear we will lose our desire to better ourselves as individuals and let other people tell us what to do and think.  Anyways, so Tony Stark is a smart guy.

4.  Like all superheroes, Mr. Stark decides that just coasting through life isn’t enough to make him feel significant.  He begins to actually involve himself in the world and feels he must take a stand on certain issues.  He sees an injustice, and decides to do something about it.  What would our world look like if we did the same?

5.  Tony Stark wasn’t bitten by a spider, or fall from a distant planet, or was born with a mutation.  His whole super-hero-ness is based, once again, on his brain.  He does a kind of Macgyver move using rudimentary tools, at first, to create an Iron Man suit.  Speaking of which, did you hear about the man who built a suit that can fly?  Pretty cool, and I’m not even a boy.

So go see Iron Man, and tell me what you think. 

 

4 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by trinette on May 19, 2008 at 6:08 pm

    Comics had a kind of backlash in the 80s and 90s. DC and Marvel put out a lot of decent stories, unlike most of what they had done before. (Well, this is what the guys at the comic shop tell me.) Things like the Sandman, or the Dark Knight series for Batman.

    I think you’d like some Japanese comics – Ah My Goddess, Tenchi Muyo, and probably You’re Under Arrest. I’m sure there’s more I can’t think of off the top of my head. The Japanese make comics for everything and everybody, and those are really more directed towards girls since they’re comedy/romance.

    I also liked Appleseed and Ghost in the Shell, but those are a lot more action oriented. Both of those are by Masamune Shirow and they have some pretty sophisticated plot lines compared to most American comics.

    Reply

  2. Posted by Misty on May 20, 2008 at 5:07 am

    This was our date night movie and we were supposed to see What stays in Vegas but alas my time was off and we didn’t want to wait 30 more minutes. Jesse was happy and I wanted to see it too. We both really enjoyed it and yes we love that Marvel has made some really cool comics come to life on the big screen. I am not a comic buff either but somehow they have roped me in through theater. Also can’t wait for the new Hulk. We both think Edward Norton will make a better go of the character.

    Back to Iron Man, I also appreciated the use of intelligence to better the world. What a great message to spread not only to parents in regards to encouraging our children but to kids who are border line genius or extremely talented in science. No more teasing the nerds, ok, they are world changers. Not everyone will build a motor by the time they are 12 but wow when it does happen. Very cool movie and I haven’t read the article yet on the flying man but did see it on yahoo. Pretty neat.

    Reply

  3. Posted by Alice Wiggins on May 20, 2008 at 1:16 pm

    I LOVED Iron Man and happened to notice some of the same things you did. It was a great movie with some good people, although I hated Jeff Bridges was the bad guy cuz I love him too. Love your blog.

    Reply

  4. Posted by Andy on May 27, 2008 at 8:42 pm

    Okay, I have yet to see the Ironman flick and I am not much of a comic book movie fan, although I did enjoy the last Batman movie and want to see the next. But I have you know I somewhat take offense at the bald=evil innuendo – and Mom, that better NOT be one of the things you “noticed”…humph!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

