Huh?

I know that is what everyone will think when they happen upon this blog.  “Sounds like tomatoes?” they may say, scratching their head.  Well, let me explain.

One day, it was really stormy outside, as it so often is here in Alabama.  In fact, just recently, in the middle of the night we were roused from bed when we heard the sirens wailing in the distance, warning us of our impending doom.  We wrapped up the kiddos in their blankets and hauled their sleeping burrito bodies downstairs to the storm room in my inlaws house.  You can pretty much touch the walls by stretching out your hands, but it has beds and that’s what counts in the middle of the night.  Along with the glow in the dark stars glued on the ceiling.

But I digress.

So it was really stormy, and the tin roof was just a-pinging away from all the rain hitting it and the wind was howling.  My four year old, Addie, dashes into the room with great big blue saucer eyes, listening to the storm.  So we ask, “Addie, do you hear that storm outside?  Isn’t it loud?”  She nods very solemnly and says “It sounds like a tomato!”

And there you are.  Welcome to my world.

 

7 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Your lee-tle See-ster on May 14, 2008 at 12:47 am

    My niece is so brilliant. 🙂

    Reply

  2. Posted by Alice Wiggins on May 14, 2008 at 5:33 pm

    Great story. Next time you “talk” to Andy, ask him what he called my grandma. Yea! Kearsie is blogging!

    Reply

  3. Posted by Christina on May 24, 2008 at 7:25 am

    I laughed out loud!!!
    .. heres a short one for ya.. Driving along, my 3 year old is sounding out letters in the back seat, and I am not paying much attention. I hear him say D… duh… M…mmmm… T… tttttt Then he put it all together.. “DMT spells D*mm*t” Verbatim.. no joke… I tried very hard not to bust a gut explaining to him that is NOT a word he should ever say, though very good for sounding out the letters!!! sigh… (turns out he saw the letters on a truck that passed us, and was trying to understand what it spelled!!!)

    Reply

  4. That is just the best.

    Reply

  5. Posted by Carrie Mace on June 4, 2009 at 9:18 pm

    I have now started the journey of reading ALL your blog entries. I can’t guarantee you that
    i will do this quickly, but I’ll do my best. And, you know I don’t do comments much, but I love you now,so..

    🙂

    Reply

  6. Kearsie- you must be the funniest person out there- anywhere. I thought my husband was funny, but you… you are make me cry funny. I am so glad to have found your blog! You probably don’t remember me from school, I don’t think we were there are the same time (BCF that is) but you probably remember my hubby- Kris. Enjoy keeping up with you 🙂

    Blessings,

    Shana Mullis

    Reply

  7. Thank you so much for that story! That explains so much! Love your comments as much as your blog. Are you going to bling as well?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

